Charlie Simpson readies debut solo album: Young Pilgrim

Fightstar frontman and former Busted member Charlie Simpson will release his debut solo album Young Pilgrim on 15th August 2011.

First up: Fightstar fans, don’t panic! The band are currently on hiatus after a busy few years and the members are concentrating on other projects before reuniting again in 2012. But you probably already knew that.

On to Young Pilgrim: It’s an unexpectedly tender side of Charlie Simpson that fans will see on this record. Lead single Down Down Down is laced with sumptuous harmonies and lucious orchestration – and reveals a much more mature and accomplished songwriter than this reviewer had ever imagined.

Second single Parachutes sees richly layered textures and a subtle hook backed up by a persistent piano and drum line. The single will be released a week ahead of Young Pilgrim, on 8th August. According to the release we’ve been sent, other highlights of the album include:

‘Cemetery’ which, driven by a double bass and chain gang stomp, takes a sentimental look back at his youth when everything was “an open road, with no real sense of responsibility”. Never resting on his laurels, Charlie also collaborated with Ivor Novello winning songwriter Iain Archer on the melancholic ‘If I Lose It’, the pen-ultimate song on the album. Fittingly, final track ‘Riverbanks’ produces a guitar, piano and string driven crescendo to close the album in epic post-rock fashion.

If you want to hear a few tracks from the album in advance, Simpson has posted a 4-track sampler of Young Pilgrim on Soundcloud. But, since that can’t be embedded, here’s the official video for Parachutes, which has also just been released:

Young Pilgrim was recorded over a six month period at Simpson’s London studio, and produced by Danton Supple (who has previously worked with Coldplay and Doves). 

“Young Pilgrim” track listing

  1. Down Down Down
  2. Parachutes
  3. All At Once
  4. Thorns
  5. Cemetery
  6. Hold On
  7. I Need A Friend Tonight
  8. Suburbs
  9. Sundown
  10. Farmer & His Gun
  11. If I Lose It
  12. Riverbanks


Log In or Sign Up

Skip to toolbar