Foo Fighters new album Wasting Light, due out 11th April 2011

Dave Grohl and his Foo Fightin’ friends are back with an incredible seventh studio album next month. Wasting Light is due for release on 11th April 2011.

The eleven track album was produced by Butch Vig and mixed by Alan Moulder. Interestingly, the band chose to record the whole thing live in Dave Grohl’s garage studio on analog tape. Kickin’ it old skoll, etc… The band are putting quite an emphasis on the stripped-back, no computers, no gadgetry approach to making this album. Will it be, as the blurb suggests, the Foo Fighters’ finest hour? We’ll have to wait and see.

Foo Fighters band shot

Lead single from the album is Rope, which you can hear on this special microsite. It’s a pretty punchy track, perfect for waking the listening public up and giving them a damned good shake-up. The video will be premiered on MTV’s websites on Friday 11th March, and will be hitting YouTube (officially) the next day. Of course, the minute it hits MTV, some clever wag will have uploaded a copy to YouTube. It’s the right thing to do.

And for the hardcore Foo Fans, here’s a little snippet I just copied and pasted from the press release (lazy me)! Seems there’s going to be a pretty cool documentary about the band, charting their early days right up to the present. Having seen the band on a VH1 Storytellers session recently, I reckon this will be pretty good:

Concurrent with the album’s release, Exclusive Media Group’s documentary division Spitfire Pictures are producing a feature documentary about the Foo Fighters directed by Academy Award winner James Moll (The Last Days, Running The Sahara). Co-produced and co-financed by Exclusive Media Group and RCA Records, Moll’s documentary chronicles the entire history of the Foo Fighters, from the cassette demos Grohl recorded during his tenure as Nirvana’s drummer through their ascent to their Grammy-winning, multi-platinum, arena and stadium headlining status as one of the biggest rock bands on the planet. This chronicling of the Foo Fighters’ triumphs and tragedies  culminates in an in-depth behind the scenes perspective on the making of the new album: A process in which the band pushed itself forward by returning to its roots and recording in Grohl’s garage completely on analog tape.

That’s yer lot for Foo Fighters news for now. Except for this very important list…

Wasting Light: Track Listing

  1. Bridge Burning
  2. Rope
  3. Dear Rosemary
  4. White Limo
  5. Arlandria
  6. These Days
  7. Back & Forth
  8. A Matter Of Time
  9. Miss The Misery
  10. I Should Have Known
  11. Walk

Tagged under:

1 Comment

Log In or Sign Up

Skip to toolbar